Inaugural Post!

I am not quite sure of the definition of inaugural but I feel that it fits in the title of my first post.

First, an introduction to me:

My name is Kerri Casper and I am studying Human Nutritional Sciences at the University of Manitoba. Since my blog readership is probably going to be 0 for a long, long time, I am not too worried about stalkers. I’m finishing up my third year this summer and I graduate next April (2011)! After that, I’m going to be completing a dietetic internship and hopefully at the end of all this formal education I will be a practicing Registered Dietitian. Whew.

I actually created this blog after a conversation with some random girl came through my register at my place of work during the school year. She was buying her “lunch” of chips, pop and chocolate bar and she said, “Too bad it’s not a healthy lunch, but at least it tastes good!”

That sentence stuck with me the rest of the day, and if I remember correctly, when I got home, I ranted about how all I wanted to do with my career was convince and show people that healthy food can taste just as good as the unhealthy “treat” and “guilty pleasure” foods we are so often eating.

That being said, I have nothing against eating foods such as chips, chocolate and pop. All foods can fit. In MODERATION. Moderation may be the most important word when it comes to eating. If I could re-order the dictionary (alphabetically is SO last year) and put words according to importance, moderation would be up there.

Anyway, going back to what that girl said, I decided to create this blog to talk about food and nutrition. And my life of course because everyone always wants to talk about themselves. Oh and also some home decorating stuff may sneak in as I really enjoy those blogs. I’ve has a slew of blogs over the years. I started out on LiveJournal in 2005… Holy teenage angst. I moved over to Blogger for about 4 blogs (haha) and then here to WordPress. This is my second blog on WordPress. I have a tendency to start blogs, get busy, bored and stop posting in them. So with my track record, you may not think that this blog will be too promising. I think it has a chance. I love food and nutrition and I like to cook. Everyday (believe it or not) I eat! If I continue with this way of thinking, I should never run out of things to post about. Right? Right!

Enough blah blah… Here’s what I had for lunch!

Last night my family had brown rice as a side dish to our salmon (yum). So I decided to use up some of the leftover rice in a salad recipe I adapted from Poor Girl Eats Well.

As she says, you can include all sorts of random veggies. I used raw mushrooms, cucumbers, tomato and carrots. I just mixed up whatever amount seemed right with about a cup of rice. I wanted to add tuna but we didn’t have any in the house. In hindsight,  I could have flaked the leftover salmon from last night and included that.

I also found and adapted a recipe on AllRecipes for a creamy vinaigrette. I wasn’t crazy about it and in the end I didn’t completely finish my salad because I was getting  a little sick of it. The vinaigrette I made had a tbsp lemon juice, 1 1/2 tsp mayo, some minced garlic, salt and pepper and 1 tbsp oil. I think I messed up the proportions and it ended up too lemony and too tangy but c’est la vie. I enjoyed it for most of the salad.

This salad had colour and I think that the more colour in your meal, the greater the variation of vitamins and minerals you are getting. And since the dressing had only a tbsp of oil, that’s not too bad for fat. You need some fat in your diet, after all.

That’s all for now. Summer courses started today so I will be working on Obesity and Eating Disorders and Physical Activity, Health and Wellness through Distance Ed until August. I was also going to go for a bike ride but it’s only 5 degrees outside so I think I will just log some time on my Wii Fit. Have a good day!

Leave a Reply

