Veggie Omelette

I LOVE eggs. LOVE them. Versatile, nutritious, delicious. Seriously, that should be their tag line.

They’re also speedy. Perfect for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Eggs are under fire sometimes for a few reasons, ethical reasons aside (I’m not that kind of blogger), because of they contain saturated fat and cholesterol. Consulting the USDA Nutrient Database (the Canadian Nutrient Files are being weird…), one egg only contains about 2g of saturated fat. You need fat in your diet. Say it with me everyone, fat is NOT bad! A LOT of fat is bad. There is a difference.

As for the cholesterol… one egg contains about 217 mg of cholesterol. Cholesterol isn’t something great for your body and you should limit it. However, it really doesn’t have the effect people think it does on blood cholesterol levels… Saturated and trans fats have a way greater impact on those! I had a prof who ran marathons and ate 4 eggs a day. (According to her) Her doctor said she had fantastic blood cholesterol levels. And just so you know, high levels of “bad” blood cholesterol (HDL cholesterol) can block arteries, causing heart attacks and all that unpleasant stuff!

Anyway enough nutrition mumbo gumbo, here’s what I had for lunch!

I’m no Julia Child, but omelettes are not too difficult to make. And who really cares if it doesn’t look perfect? You (probably) aren’t a chef and you aren’t serving your food to restaurant clients. You get to eat it! Even better.

I seem to be on a bit of a vegetable kick right now don’t I? Very similar vegetables to yesterday’s lunch.

Here’s what I did.

I took two mushrooms, some red and green pepper and little onion and sauteed them up with a bit of oil in a pan. I then set the veggies aside (I also added a little previously-frozen thawed spinach). I mixed two eggs with a splash of milk and cooked it on one side until it was pretty much cooked on top. Then I flipped this big egg pancake over let it cook very briefly. I piled most of my veggies on top of the omelette and attempted to fold it over. I had too many veggies so it spilled out. The extra veggies went on top. Pretty food is nice but I’d rather it taste good!

Round out that meal with a slice of whole wheat toast and a glass of milk and lunch is served!

Seriously, it took me 20 minutes to make. Three hours later, I’m still satisfied. Another adjective to add to the definition of eggs – Filling!

Leave a Reply

